Jibran Nasir is ready to Contest Election for 2nd time

Jibran nasir election 2018

Mohammad Jibran Nasir is a Pakistani civil liberty activist, lawyer, politician, and blogger.

He is known for criticizing state policies regarding banned organizations in Pakistan and call attention to the need for protection of minorities in the country. Jibran Nasir is very popular among the youth and in Left-wing approach, He is considered as the secular person who speaks up for the rights of the minorities.

Jibran Nasir announced to contest the election in general election 2018 from Karachi constituency NA-247 and PS-111 but most people are unaware that in the last election as well he contested election from this constituency, number of constituencies has been changed due to recent delimitation. He contested election from NA-250 against Dr. Arif Alvi of Pakistan Tahreek e Insaaf and Khushbakhat Shujat of MQM, he got 259 votes from National Assembly seat.

Jibran also contested election from PS-113 where he got 433 votes against Samar Ali Khan of PTI and Saleem Zia of PML-N, PTI candidates won both of these seats.

As a 26-year-old boy he contested election for the first time without any party affiliation and as an independent candidate, now after 5 years he is going to contest election again and he announced that he will be contesting an election as an independent candidate this time as well.

It has been seen that contesting the election in Pakistan is very difficult and people from middle class and Youth don’t show interest in National politics but as Jibran Nasir is doing for the 2nd time now, it will encourage other youth from the middle class and upper middle class to participate in Politics of a country. In the past, it was considered as the profession of an only landlord, businessman and retired people from civil service taking part in an election but in Pakistan trend is getting changing slowly, now we have seen many new faces in recent parliament and many are contesting election for the first time in upcoming general election 2018.